CWM Moderator, Rt Rev. Lydia Neshangwe, Elected First Female President of the AACC

by Cheon Young Cheol

In a historic decision, the Council for World Mission (CWM) Moderator, the Rt Rev. Lydia Neshangwe, was elected as the first female President to serve the All Africa Conference of Churches (AACC). A delegate of the Uniting Presbyterian Church in Southern Africa (UPCSA), the Rt Rev. Neshangwe was elected into her new role during the 12th General Assembly of the AACC, held in Nigeria, where the AACC was first established, from 18-23 November.

The AACC is a continental ecumenical body representing over 200 million Christians across Africa. The AACC is the largest association of Protestant, Anglican, Orthodox, and Indigenous churches in Africa and a member of the worldwide ecumenical network.

While also serving as the President of the AACC, the Rt Rev. Neshangwe is also the current Moderator of UPCSA and the Moderator of CWM.

“CWM is delighted to hear the news of the Rt Rev. Neshangwe’s election as the newest AACC President,” Rev. Dr Jooseop Keum, CWM General Secretary, said. “We are confident that Rt Rev. Neshangwe will offer strong leadership with a clear vision and relentless commitment to the churches of the AACC to transform themselves into life-flourishing communities.”

You may also like